Licence Options

When it comes to a full motorcycle licence there are a few differences in the categories, and the professional motorcycle training offered for each of them. Here we have tried to put the differences of the different motorcycle licence categories into simple terms, so we can all understand which motorcycle licence category is best for each person.

Restricted Licence
(A1 Licence)

An A1 licence is available for motorcycle riders from the age of 17 and above. By law, motorcycle riders from the age group of 17 to 19 years of age are restricted to ride (motorcycle training and learning) on a learner legal machine with an engine size of a maximum 125 cc and the power output of the motorcycle must be no more than 11kW. When you pass your A1 licence and gain your full A1 motorcycle licence, you can get rid of your L plates, carry a passenger, be able to go to motorways, and practice safe riding on a 125cc motorcycle.

2021 HONDA CB125R

Restricted Licence
(A2 Licence)

If you are aged between 19 and 24 years, you are restricted to ride a bike of a power output of no more than 35kW (47BHP). You will need to pass your A2 licence practical tests for this. If you have passed your full A1 motorcycle licence tests, you will have to pass the practical test again, but not the Motorcycle Theory Test. As an intermediate motorcycle licence, A2 licence bikes will have at least 395cc and a power output of between 20kW and 35kW. Once you have completed your A2 licence, you will have a full restricted motorcycle licence which means you can ride an intermediate motorcycle with no L plates, carry a passenger, and be able to go to motorways.
2022 HONDA CBR650R

Unrestricted Licence
(A Licence)

The DAS licence (Category A) is for those aged 24 or over, or those who have held an A2 licence for at least two years. The category A licence is an unrestricted motorcycle licence that you obtain by taking a Direct Access (DAS) course and tests. The Direct Access Scheme (DAS) allows riders aged 24 years old and over the option of receiving professional motorcycle training and taking the full motorcycle tests on a large motorcycle of over 595cc with a minimum power output of 50 kW and a minimum weight of 175kg. When you pass your DAS tests you will have a full licence that allows you to ride any motorcycle of any size or power, as well as being able to ride a motorcycle with no L plates, carry a passenger, and allows you to use motorways.